Makeup reviews

Deep thoughts and a foundation find

I’m going to mix it up today and start out with my deep, brooding thoughts. I know this is primarily a place for makeup but I gotta keep you on your toes.

So I’ve always been a big fan of saying “I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up”…and usually people just laugh cause I’m generally a sarcastic smart ass (is that the same thing?)…but I am telling the honest to god (if you believe in that sort of thing) truth.

I knew from a very young age that I wanted to be in healthcare. I NEVER dreamed of being a lawyer (although can you imagine getting to argue with someone when you’re PMS’ing, and getting paid big bucks to do it???!!!…that’s my idea of doing what you love ladies), ok…I lost myself there for a second..phew. But as I was saying, I never dreamt about being a chef or an accountant or anything other than healthcare. So I followed my dream like a fucking rockstar! I have been in it for almost 20 years, and I can honestly say that I have loved it and hated it at the same time.

It takes a special kind of soul to be a first responder. We have to walk into a complete stranger’s personal space and try and help them through whatever crisis they find themselves in. And most of us are really good at it. We care for these people as if they were family. But the shitty part about it…we don’t care for each other. Some of us hold up signs claiming we will support each other and so on, but when it comes time to put your money where your mouth is, we clam up tighter than your asshole. We NEED to be nicer to each other because in general we aren’t nice to ourselves and the public sure doesn’t show us much love (you know what I mean medics and cops right?!).

So you know what? I have figured out what I want to be….I want to be NICE. I want to leave people better than when I found them. I want people to know that they can come to me, and I will help as best I can (except for loaning $$$, cause this bitch is broke!). I’m not saying that I love everybody, cause that’s a big fat lie..there are some people that I would gladly run over if there were no witnesses around 😜. But I can and will be nice to them..it’s not being two faced..it’s called being an adult. And I’m sure as hell not saying that I won’t be a flaming douche from time to time to the people I love (I’m only human) but I want to be a nice person. So I’m going to follow this dream too and no one can stop me!!

I think that we should all strive for this when we grow up gals. Let’s be nice 💝

On to the makeup portion of the show ladies!!!

I have a love/hate relationship with foundation. I love it because my skin is SHITTY and I’m not a huge fan of walking around looking like the troll who lives under the bridge, but I also hate looking like I slathered my makeup on with a spatula. I just want to walk out my door knowing that my skin is camouflaged enough so that small children won’t cry when they see me, but that I don’t look like one of those ridiculous “Housewives of whatever fucking city and have way too much money”

I have finally found the perfect foundation for me! This tube of foundation can be picked up at the drugstore or the big box stores…it’s usually priced around $20, so you don’t have to remortgage your house to get some.

Its a light to medium coverage, which means it will cover some of your flaws but not everything, so you still look normal. It has a dewy finish but it’s not sparkly or anything (so no Edward laying in the sun). I know the big makeup trend now is matte this and matte that, but I can’t pull that off. My skin is just too fucked up for that…matte foundation shows every flaw on my skin. So I much prefer the dewy look, it makes my skin look like I actually got more than 30 minutes of sleep and subsist on more than coffee.

I use a wet BeautyBlender sponge to apply this, which I found works best for me..and you have to be fast to get this on because it dries super quick. But that works to my advantage because I don’t want to spend an hour doing my makeup.

So if you’re in the market for a new foundation, give this one a whirl

img_0080

 

Leave a Reply

